Skip to content

Proudly Serving
the Valley Since 1975

Licensed & Bonded by the State of Texas School Lic. # C0056

Faqs

Adults (11)

When is the adult class offered in a group with an instructor?

See schedule for dates and times at each of our locations.

If I don’t pass the test the first time can I take it again?

Yes you can take the written test again.

Do we have to take the Adult Driver’s Ed course even if we already know how to drive?

Yes, the course is required by the state law if you are between the ages of 18 to 24.

Can we take the driving test with Benavides Driving School?

No, the driving test has to be taken at the Department of Public Safety but we at Benavides Driving School prepare you in our car for the Driving Test.

How long is the adult completion certificate good for?

It’s good for 1 year if you don’t turn it in to the DPS.

What does the Adult 6 hours class consist of?

The Adult 6 hours class consists of the the traffic rules and signs, all the different rules and regulations you have to know before you are eligible for obtaining a Texas Driver’s License. Also video and interaction between teacher and students and testing over regulations you have to know before you are eligible for obtaining a Texas Driver’s License.

Can an adult over 24 years of age take the adult course?

Yes, by taking the 6 hour Adult theory you will not be required to take the witten exam at the DPS office.

Can we take driving lessons at BDS also?

Yes, we have packages for beginners, intermediate and even experienced drivers.

Will a written re-test cost more?

No. There is no additional cost for the written re-test.

As an Adult, am I required to take Driver Education?

Yes, you are required by DPS to take a 6-Hour Adult Course between the ages of 18-24. If you are over 25 years of age, you can still take the 6-Hour course with Benavides Driving School.

Defensive Driving (2)

How long will it take to get my certificate?

14 to 21 days from the class. But we also have an overnight service and a 2-3 day priority service available.

DOEP (3)

How many hours is the class?

The DOEP class is 15 hours usually done over a 5 night period with 3 hours a night from 6:30 to 9:30 pm.

Do we get some kind of certificate?

Yes, you get a certificate of completion from BDS.

Can the classes be done individually?

No, the classes are done in a group.

DWI (3)

How many hours do you offer?

We offer a 12 hour class usually done over a 3 night period, 4 hours a night from 6:00 to 10:00 PM.

Can they be done individually?

No, the classes are done in a group setting.

Do we get a certificate?

Yes, BDS will provide you with a certificate fo completion as soon as you successfully complete the course.

Repeat Offender (2)

How long is the class?

The class is a 30 hour class done 2 hours a day twice a week for 7 weeks.

Are the classes offered individually?

No, the classes are done as a group.

Teens and Parents (18)

At what age can the teen start Teen Driver’s Ed class?

At the age 15, 16 or 17, Also a teen can start the Drive/s Ed course, under certain circumstances, at 14 yrs old can start the theory part only but cannot obtain a driving permit until he or she turns 15 years old.

When does a teen get their license to drive on their own?

Only after a teen has met the following state requirements: A. The student is at least 16 years old or granted a hardship license by DPS at the age of 15. B. The student has completed the entire Driver Education course required by Texas Law which is: Phase 1-32 hours of classroom instruction and Phase 2-14 hours of in-car instruction and has completed and logged the additional hours with a 21 year old or older. C. The student has had a learners permit for at least 6 months. D. The student has passed the driving test at Benavides Driving School or DPS.

Does the student have to be present to get their learner’s permit?

Yes, you must be present to sign all documentation in front of the DPS official and take a picture for your Learners Permit.

What else do I need to take with me to DPS for Permit?

The documents that you need to take are: VOE or TEA form from the High School you are currently attending, Original Birth Certificate or Certified Copy, Original Social Security Card of Verification of Social Security Number,  DE-964 certificate from Benavides Driving School, $16.00, The DPS Application (we will provide one), School ID or School Transcript and 2 utility bills.

What documents will I need to take to Benavides Driving School or the DPS for the driving test?

If you take the driving test at Benavides Driving School or DPS, you will need the following documents: DE-964 Certificate of Completion (the green certificate) for the Driver Education Course, Verification of Enrollment (VOE) form (if under 18 years of age), 30-Hour Log, ITTD 2-Hour Video and Learners Permit.

Where can we download the 20 Hour Driving Log?

The 20 Hour Driving Log can be downloaded from our website at the bottom of our Teen page.

Where can we download the 30 Hour Driving Log?

The 30 Hour Driving Log can be downloaded from our website at the bottom of our Teen page.

How long is the Teen Driver Education Course?

The Teen Driver Education Course is 4 weeks long; sometimes we have 3 weeks long and weekends only.

What do I have to bring the first day of class?

The first day of class you are required to bring a pencil, no pens, and a 3-Ring Binder with paper.

What if I can’t go to every classroom lesson?

As per the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR), Benavides Driving School has chosen to use a make-up policy, which allows students to attend a missed lesson at a later date during a regularly scheduled class.

How long must Teens have a permit before getting a license?

Applicants who are under 18 years of age must hold a learners license for a minimum of 6-months prior to the issuance of a provisional Class C driver license.

Do Teens still have to take a Road Test at the DPS or can they take it at Benavides Driving School?

Teens have the option of taking Road Test at DPS or Benavides Driving School.

Do I need to be in High School to take Driver Education?

Yes, only if you are under the age of 18, if you are in high school you must show a Verification of Enrollment (VOE) form obtained from your school, or in place of a VOE and only if you are under the age of 18, you need proof of Homeschooling, GED, or High School Diploma.

As a Teen, what will I need to take to DPS to get my Permit?

You will need the following documents: Verification of Enrollment (VOE) form (only needed if under 18 years of age), Birth Certificate (long form or certified copy), Social Security (original), Parent or Legal Guardian must have Texas ID, or Texas Driver License, or Legal Residency (only needed if under 18 years of age); Check, Cash, or Money Order for $16; School ID, School Transcript, or Texas ID; DE964 (the green certificate) from Benavides Driving School; DPS Application and Supplement; and 2 Utility Bills.

As an Adult, am I required to take Driver Education?

Yes, you are required by DPS to take a 6-Hour Adult Course between the ages of 18-24. If you are over 25 years of age, you can still take the 6-Hour course with Benavides Driving School.

Do I need to study before coming to the Course?

No, Benavides Driving School has a complete curriculum for both Adults and Teenagers.

Do you offer driving lessons for Adults?

Yes, Benavides Driving School offers driving lessons at $40.00 per hour. You can schedule driving hours during the week or weekends, when convenient for you.

Can a Student drive on their own with their Permit?

No, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver, at least 21 years of age with at least 1 year of driving experience, must occupy the seat besides the student driver with permit and cannot be intoxicated, asleep, or engaging in any activity that prevents him/her from observing and responding to the actions of the student driver with permit.

Theft/Anger Management (3)

How many Hours does BDS offer?

We offer a 5 hour or 10 hour course depending on what the court has assigned you.

Can the fees be paid in payments?

No, the fees have to be paid upfront. We accept cash, all major credit cards or debit cards, no personal checks.

Are the classes done individually?

Yes the classes are done by appointment and our instructor will work with you to meet at a convenient time with you.